Our Connection to Divinity

door-and-key

My ‘Stats Page’ revealed to me last week, that somebody had found and read my blog post Being In The World, But Not Of It (https://delvingdeepwithin.wordpress.com/2014/11/27/being-in-the-world-but-not-of-it/) via a search engine. While it was a nice surprise to learn that friends on my Facebook page and the occasional blogger here are not the only people to read it, the search terms they used – “maintaining your connection to divinity in the world” – did make me wonder if they had found an answer to their question in my post or not…

I thought probably not.

It was one of my more reflective posts. And I’m pretty sure that if I were to put something like that in a search engine, I’d be on the lookout for practical ideas that I could apply in my own life. So that is my hope today – to explore some tangible ways we can maintain our connection to divinity as we walk in the world. And in doing so I also hope to open myself up to receive greater understanding.

Before exploring how to sustain a connection to divinity, I feel I first need an understanding of what divinity actually means to me.

Trying to express this in words is in itself a challenge – the divine is, by its very nature, limitless and therefore beyond our limited conceptions and understanding. For me, at this stage in my journey, ‘God’ or ‘the Divine’ is Source energy –  the creative life-force energy and consciousness behind everything in the Universe; the creator of all that is. We have been birthed forth from this creative life-force energy and it is what now in this very moment animates and sustains us; so we also contain this divinity within. It is both the stuff we are made of and the divine spark of life at the centre of our being; and so we are always not only connected to but actively embodying divinity, whether we are conscious of it or not.

From this understanding the question becomes not so much, “How can we maintain our connection to divinity in the world?;” but “How can we maintain our connection to divinity more consciously?”

As we are sentient beings who create our experiences of the world through our thoughts and feelings, for me the question also becomes, “How can we feel this connection to divinity as intensely as the sun’s warmth on our skin, so it becomes something we know experientially; a subtle but living presence within that we live and breathe in everything we do?” A purely intellectual understanding of our connection to all that is can never awaken this kind of ‘knowing’ within us – and while we don’t need to feel the connection for it to be true, it is true that doing so deepens our experience of it.

I think two of the keys that open the door to this kind of felt-awareness of our connection to divinity are the desire to have the experience of it and the belief that it is possible. Not just for those who we feel are further along the path of enlightenment and somehow worthier than us of such aspirations; but also for me, here, now. We are all equal in the eyes of the Universe – life makes no distinctions between us. This means that if it’s possible for someone else, it’s also possible for me. An experiential connection to divinity isn’t reserved for spiritual gurus and leaders; it is the birthright of us all. All we need to do is to step up and claim it.

This is where desire comes in. Everything is born of our desire. What we desire to experience in our lives and keep our focus and attention on is what we receive. So simply by having a genuine and heartfelt desire to consciously sustain a felt connection to divinity, we open up the gates for this to happen.

Focus and attention are another two keys – they help us keep our desire activated so that it doesn’t waver and falter and end up resigned to a wishy-washy ‘one of these days’ backwater of our being.

I’m sure you’ve heard it said as often as I have that what we put our focus and attention on grows. So when we make the conscious choice to think, speak and act in ways that reinforce our connection to divinity – both the divinity within and the ‘all that is’ that comprises the divinity without – it’s only natural that this connection is more experientially felt and known.

As to the practicalities of how to hone our focus and attention in this way, I think different things work for different people.

I like to have some practices in place as they help me be more consistent – and consistency is the  next key. How can we expect to maintain a felt sense of our connection to divinity if we aren’t consistent in the affirming of it through our thoughts, word and actions? Although this connection is ever-present, if we rarely do anything to “tune in” we limit our ability to experience it – much as we can have wi-fi throughout our entire house, but are only able to know this experientially when we use a device that initiates a connection to it.

I like to take time to consciously ‘connect in’ on waking – it helps me start my day in the way I wish to go on. I start with an offering of gratitude – for the fresh new day and for the life that I am in it; and also do a grounding exercise, some breath work and a short meditation-like exercise to fill myself with the purest essence of me. I also set my intention to receive the wisdom of my higher self throughout the day and to be in alignment with my soul’s desires. Setting intentions is yet another key that helps us consolidate our desires and communicate them to the Universe; thereby opening ourselves up to receive its support. After breakfast I walk with my dog, absorbing the beauty of the nature all around and affirming my oneness with it.

These things help me feel centred; part of something that is both greater than I am and yet that somehow simultaneously I am; and connected to my heart. And it is from this heart-centered space that I’m more able to consciously embody both my authentic self free of any masks and the qualities that we commonly associate with the divine – such as love and compassion for self and others, gratitude, wisdom and kindness – as I  move through my day.

I feel this heart-centered state of being is a large part of what we mean when we speak of ‘maintaining our connection to divinity.’ Revealing as it may be as to how we still locate our sense of self in terms of polarity, we are voicing a genuine (and worthy) desire to express the highest qualities of our being, and to interact with the people and things in our world from this heart-centred space.

I think another part of what we mean when we talk of maintaining our connection to divinity is our yearning to be in a constant state of communicative flow with the Universe – the kind of two-sided communication where we’re not only expressing our gratitude and desires; but are also on the receiving end of communications as well. Again, I think this is something that is open to all of us. It is my belief that the Universe is communicating with all of us all of the time – through the voices of the people we meet; the words we read in books or on the Internet; the repeating patterns we see in our lives; the signs and symbols we see in nature; the synchronicites we encounter as we move through our lives… Also through our heart-space – through the desires that bubble up unbidden; the peaceful feeling of quiet and stillness that tells us that we are on path and all is well; the quiet intuitions and knowings that we feel deep within our hearts… If we can only open up our hearts and consciousness into a more expansive awareness, we become more receptive; and the more receptive we are, the more of these communications can get through.

So another key to maintaining a connection to divinity seems to lie in our being able to maintain a heart-centered consciousness.

Until we are far enough along our path that it becomes our natural state of being to be present and heart-centered in this way it is helpful, I believe, to create some time each day without distractions when we can consciously ‘connect in’ with ourselves and all that is and come into this heart-centered space. I use my morning practices to do this, but countless variations exist – gardening, journaling, time spent with pets, tai chi, contemplative reading, painting, meditation, time spent in nature, running, yoga, time spent absorbing the beauty of a piece of art… all of these things and many more offer a way to ‘connect in.’

I don’t think there is one right answer or even one ‘correct’ way of connecting in – sometimes I like to do something that makes me feel vigorously alive and grateful for the life that courses through my veins; and other times I like to do something that takes me to a place of deep peace, quiet and stillness. Both of these states of being awaken in me a state of heart-centeredness and bring me fully into the present.

I think that what is key is that whatever our practice is it helps us to set our mind free for a while from the constant barrage of thoughts, and brings us fully into the present moment. It’s only in the present moment that we can fully connect to anything, and it is in this experience of our beingness that our connection to divinity is experientially felt. As we release all thoughts of past and future and focus on the now we naturally come into our heart space and are reminded of all that we are – alive, present, complete; the eternal breath of life in human form.

Leave a Reply

